Wagner A Double Winner At Antioch Speedway


Antioch, CA…August 3…Danny Wagner won his first 20 lap All Star Series Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. Earlier the evening, Wagner also won the 20 lap A Modified Main Event. Wagner is driving the Dave Johnson owned Sprint Car this season.

The Main Event had a rough start with three yellow flags in the first lap, and two-time champion Art McCarthy set the pace when the race finally got going. Wagner made an inside pass on the backstretch on lap three to take second from Ryon Nelson. Wagner quickly closed in on McCarthy and begin looking for a way around. A high pass in Turn 3 of the 10th lap finally gained Wagner the lead. As Wagner begin to pull away, McCarthy saw a late challenge from reigning champion Matt DeMartini. DeMartini made an inside move in Turn 3 of the 18th lap, but there was slight contact as DeMartini gained the position. McCarthy fell a few positions back as Wagner won ahead of DeMartini, Roberto Kirby, Jacob Tuttle and McCarthy.

Danny Wagner also won his second 20 lap A Modified Main Event to gain a little bit more ground on point leader Buddy Kniss. There was a restart after contact sent Michelle Paul spinning in Turn 2. Officials penalized Raymond Linderman to the rear for the restart, and Wagner jumped into the lead at the waiving of the green flag. Multi time Petaluma champion Michael Paul Jr settled into second on lap two with Bobby Motts Jr gaining third a lap later. By then, Wagner had a straightaway advantage. Wagner caught slower traffic by lap 10, and though he was slowed up just a little bit, once he cleared the traffic, he pulled away again. Wagner scored an impressive victory in the non-stop race, followed by Michael Paul Jr, Motts, Oreste Gonella and Buddy Kniss.

Kevin Brown won his first career 20 lap B Modified Main Event. Brown had the outside front row starting position and raced into the lead at the start ahead of Mark Garner and Tommy Clymens Jr. Point leader Tommy Fraser made a backstretch pass on Clymens for third on lap three. As the lead two cars ran down the back stretch on lap 10, contact sent Brown sideways into the infield as Garner gained the lead over Fraser and Chris Sieweke. Contact from Sieweke sent Fraser spinning in Turn 3 for a lap 15 yellow flag. Moments later, Garner had his motor let go on him in a big cloud of smoke. This put Brown back into the lead. After another yellow flag on the restart, Brown led Fraser and Sieweke on the next restart. Fraser pressured Brown hard and just managed beat him back to the line at the white flag. However, Brown had the better outside line and had the lead by the time they exited Turn 2. Brown went on to win ahead of Fraser, Sieweke, Clymens and Cameron Swank.

David Michael Rosa won his first 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event of the season. Rosa had the outside front row starting spot and charged into the early lead over Troy Stevenson Jr. Point leader Scott Dahlgren briefly gained third on lap four, but hard charger Devan Kammermann regained the position a lap later. Kammermann quickly set his sites on Stevenson and gained second on lap six. During the closing laps, Kammermann was making a challenge on Rosa for the lead when a yellow flag waved on lap 18. Rosa got a good start and would take it all the way to the checkered flag. Kammermann held off a late challenge from teammate Dahlgren to finish second as Bobby Johnson and Stevenson completed the Top 5.

Racing resumes next Saturday night with the All Star Racing Series Wingless Spec Sprints, DIRTcar Late Models, A Modifieds, Limited Late Models and Hobby Stocks. For further information, go to www.antiochspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results
All Star Series Antioch Speedway
Winged 360 Sprint Cars
Heat winners (8 laps)-Danny Wagner, Chris Nelson. Main Event (20 laps)-Danny Wagner, Matt DeMartini, Roberto Kirby, Jacob Tuttle, Art McCarthy, Ryon Nelson, Burt Foland Jr, Chris Nelson, Scott Chapeta, Brad Dillard.

A Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Michael Paul Jr, Bobby Motts Jr. Main Event (20 laps)-Danny Wagner, Michael Paul Jr., Bobby Motts Jr., Oreste Gonella, Buddy Kniss, Sean O’Gara, Trevor Clymens, Gary Hetrick, Kimo Oreta, Raymond Linderman.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Trevor Clymens, Chris Sieweke. Main Event (20 laps)-Kevin Brown, Tommy Fraser, Chris Sieweke, Tommy Clymens Jr., Cameron Swank, Trevor Clymens, Jason Womack, Nick Caughman Jr, Mark Garner.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Troy Stevenson Jr, David Michael Rosa, Devan Kammermann. Main Event (20 laps)-David Michael Rosa, Devan Kammermann, Scott Dahlgren, Bobby Johnson, Troy Stevenson Jr, Mike Corsaro, Mario Marques, Tom Van Tuyl, Travis Hensley, Sean Catucci.