Maibes Grabs First Win, Curran Scores Fifth Win at Antioch Speedway


Antioch, CA…July 6…Dustin Maibes picked up his first All Star Racing Series Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event win Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. Maibes trailed Rick Panfili for the first four laps before making an outside pass on the frontstretch to take the lead. Panfili maintained second until surrendering the position to an inside pass on the backstretch by point leader Shannon Newton. Newton took up pursuit of Maibes, and the battle was on during the final five laps. As they took the white flag, Newton took a look to the inside of Maibes. Exiting Turn 2, Newton spun to avoid taking out Maibes, resulting in Bob Newberry spinning as well. However, Newberry kept his foot to the floor and continued on as Maibes scored the victory ahead of Newberry, Dan Gonderman, Panfili and Adam Teves.

Brent Curran won his fifth B Modified Main Event of the season to keep the championship race close between himself and Tommy Fraser. Fraser spun in Turn 4 on the opening lap, which was led by Kevin Brown. However, Fraser got going without need of a yellow flag. Curran made an inside pass in Turn 4 of the second lap to take over, and Les Friend took second from Brown on a lap 10 restart. On lap 11, Fraser finally moved into third, and he slowly closed in on Friend. However, Curran held about a straightaway advantage at the waving of the checkered flag. Fraser made a pass on the front stretch on lap 18 to take the second place position from Friend. Trevor Clymens also made a late move to finish third, followed by Friend and Brown.

Chris Long won the 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event. This was his first win of the year aboard the John Keith owned car. Long won a heat race earlier in the evening and had a front-row start for the race. He settled into the early lead ahead of Chad Hammer. Hammer ran closely behind Long for the first 13 laps before surrendering second to Kimo Oreta on a lap 13 restart. Oreta was looking for his third win, but he had his hands full fighting off point leader Jim Freethy. On lap 18, Freethy made an inside pass in Turn 2 to take second from Oreta. However, nobody was going to stop Long as he scored the impressive win ahead of Freethy, Oreta, Jimmy Robbins and Jay Bryant.

Point leader Scott Dahlgren won his third 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event of the season. Mario Marques led two laps before an inside pass in Turn 4 of the third lap gained Devan Kammermann the lead. Troy Stevenson Jr settled into second, but he surrendered the position to Dahlgren on lap 10. Dahlgren began to pressure his teammate Kammermann before making an outside pass on the backstretch on lap 12 to gain the lead. As Dahlgren went on to victory, Kammermann exchanged second with two-time reigning champion Mike Corsaro a couple of times down the stretch before finishing there as Corsaro settled for third. Stevenson and David Michael Rosa rounded out the Top 5.

Breanna Troen emerged with her first 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event win of the season after apparent winner Tyler Henrickson was disqualified in post race tech. James Thomson was the early leader with Henrickson quickly settling into second. Following a lap five yellow flag, Thomson headed to the pits with a flat tire. Henrickson led Aiden Ponciano on the restart, but soon it was Josh Leach taking up pursuit of Henrickson. When Henrickson got out of shape on the backstretch on lap 11, Leach slipped past him for the lead. Unfortunately, Leach got a flat tire two laps later as Henrickson regained the lead. Henrickson had Chris Sorensen and Troen behind him in a good race up front, and traffic enabled Troen to take the second spot from Sorensen on lap 15. Henrickson pulled away just a little bit for the apparent win, only to be disqualified in post-race tech inspection. This elevated Troen to the win, followed by Sorensen, Ken Johns, Dalton Jewell and Will Buirch.

The All Star Racing Series A Modifieds will be back in action this Saturday night, joined by the Wingless Spec Sprints, B Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and Dwarf Cars. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
All Star Series Antioch Speedway
Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Dan Gonderman, Adam Teves. Main Event (20 laps)-Dustin Maibes, Bob Newberry, Dan Gonderman, Rick Panfili, Adam Teves, Keith Calvino, Mackenzie Newton, Jeff Scotto, Shannon Newton, Bryan Greer.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Trevor Clymens, Mark Garner. Main Event (20 laps)-Brent Curran, Tommy Fraser, Trevor Clymens, Les Friend, Kevin Brown, Cameron Swank, Mark Garner, Tommy Clymens Jr, Scott Savell, Joe Salvi.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Kimo Oreta, Chris Long. Main Event (20 laps)-Chris Long, Jim Freethy, Kimo Oreta, Jimmy Robbins, Jay Bryant, Chad Hammer, Mike Gustafson, Michael Burch, Jon Haney, Mike Walko.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Jeff Betancourt, Lori Brown, Tyler Herickson. Main Event (20 laps)-Breanna Troen, Chris Sorensen, Ken Johns, Dalton Jewell, Will Buirch, Madison Motts, Lori Brown, Angela Brown, Josh Leach, Aiden Ponciano.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Mike Corsaro, Devan Kammermann, Travis Dutra. Main Event (20 laps)-Scott Dahlgren, Devan Kammermann, Mike Corsaro, Troy Stevenson Jr, David Michael Rosa, Bobby Johnson, Tom Van Tuyl, Mario Marques, Chris Becker, George Carvalho.