Darren Robertson and Dominic Ursetta Battle on Noble Energy Night at CNS


(06-30-2018 Dacono, CO) The Noble Energy Energizing Independence night at CNS was the first of three Independence Day races at Colorado National Speedway and a full crowd witnessed some thrilling NASCAR racing as well as a fantastic fireworks display to kick-off the 4th of July celebrations. Darren Robertson put his new Gillett Vet Clinic Super Late Model in winner’s circle after passing Dominic Ursetta on a double file restart. Kyle Ray also used a double-file restart to get by Clint Schubert to win the SUNOCO Race Fuels Grand American Modifieds and Jonathan Lindberg methodically worked his way to a win in the Great Scott’s Eatery Super Stocks.

Gillett Vet Clinic Super Late Models

(Note: Super Late Model results are unofficial)

Last season Darren Robertson in the #11 Super Late Model won his first ever SLM track championship but since that time Darren has been working on a brand new car and hasn’t been much of a factor in 2018. Yet Robertson proved he has the new car dialed in as he came from his 9th place starting spot to win the 50 lap feature event in a field of 20 cars.

Robertson would have to pass a bunch of fast cars on his way to the front but none more challenging than Dominic Ursetta in the #6 car who already has one feature win under his belt in 2018. Ursetta seemed to have the race in control with a fairly large lead on the field. However Robertson got his chance at Dominic on a double file restart and edged his way in front of Ursetta to take the lead. Once out front there was no stopping Darren as he cruised to his first win of 2018.

Ursetta would finish second behind Robertson and points leader Michael Scott would take 3rd place. Bruce “the Moose” Yackey was 4th and rookie Cody Dempster in the #24 car was the final car in the top 5.

There have been 4 Super Late Model races in 2018 and there has not been a repeat winner yet. Chris Eggleston, Dominic Ursetta, Michael Scott and now Darren Robertson have all visited victory lane once so far in 2018.

FEATURE: #11 Darren Robertson
FAST DASH: #11 Darren Robertson
DASH: #24 Cody Dempster

SUNOCO Race Fuel Grand American Modifieds

The finish of the SUNOCO Fuels Grand American Modifieds was filled with drama as #58 Kyle Ray took advantage of a late race restart to regain the lead from #44s Clint Schubert and take the win. It looked like it was Schubert’s race as he tracked down Ray who had a large lead and made a daring inside pass in turn 3 to take control of the race.

But a late race restart gave Ray another shot at Schubert and Schubert elected to take the outside lane which proved to be costly as Ray squeezed into the lead when it mattered most for the checkered flag.

Schubert settled for second place behind Ray and #59 Charlie Wilson was 3rd.

FEATURE: #58 Kyle Ray
FAST DASH: #58 Kyle Ray
DASH: #44s Clint Schubert

Great Scott’s Eatery Super Stocks

Great side by side racing and daring passes filled the Super Stock feature event but it was Jonathan Lindberg who ran a steady line working his way to the front passing early race leaders #32 Cody Milan and #11 Nick Tabor. Lindberg would also need to battle Michael Cox in the #3 car but eventually took control of the race.

Late in the race #99s Sam Messerli gave his best effort to steal the win from Lindberg after coming all the way from his 8th place starting position but he didn’t have enough to get by Lindberg for the win. Behind Lindberg and Messerli, Michael Cox took 3rd and Cody Milan took 4th. Troy Witthar rounded out the top 5 in the #99w car.

FEATURE: #60 Jonathan Lindberg
FAST DASH: #99s Sam Messerli
DASH: #21 Chris Nelson

Witthar Racing Trains

The June 30th 2018 Witthar Racing Trains feature event was one of the most wild in recent memory. Seven trains started the feature and as normal Jared Wall and Terri Pugilise had a huge lead on the field and seemed destined for another victory. That was until Jared and No 1 train met in the X. Wally had to crank the wheel to the right to avoid catastrophe but in doing so he couldn’t complete a full lap and gave up the lead to Taylor and Stephanie Bellomy in the “Crazy Train” who went on to take home the trophy.

FEATURE: #13 “Crazy Train”


Super Late Models
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 11 Darren Robertson Westminster
2. 6 Dominic Ursetta Arvada
3. 82 Michael Scott Cheyenne
4. 12 Bruce Yackey Greeley
5. 24 Cody Dempster (R) Parker
6. 84 Matt Zwingleberg Parker
7. 32 Brett Yackey Greeley
8. 21 Conner Snow Morrison
9. 42 Mark Neff Berthoud
10. 9 Justin Simonson Wheatridge
11. 19 Matthew Martinez Parker
12. 22X Mark Jones Denver
13. 14A Alejandro Ortiz Denver
14. 60 Rick Duckworth (R) Arvada
15. 79 Brad Jenkins (R) Castle Rock
16. 25 Monty Skinner Black Hawk
17. 27 Roger Avants Littleton
18. 58 Kyle Ray Littleton
19. 80 Ray Daniels Monument
20. 29 Matt Brunker Lakewood

Grand American Modifieds
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 58 Kyle Ray Littleton
2. 44s Clint Schubert Calhan
3. 59 Charlie Wilson Primrose
4. 44 Justin Case Brighton
5. 77 Danny Liebert (R)
6. 720 Zach Maroni
7. 72 Ryan Higgs (R) Lakewood
8. 57B Brady Balderston Aurora
9. 85 Donald Cole Dacono
10. 66 John Seely Parker
11. 88 Brad Skufca (R)
12. 99 Kyle Rayburn Pueblo West
DNS. 7 Michael McGinn (R) Thornton

Super Stocks
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 60 Jonathan Lindberg Brighton
2. 99s Sam Messerli Thornton
3. 3 Michael Cox Englewood
4. 32 Cody Milan Ft. Collins
5. 99W Troy Witthar
6. 3.2 Robert Davey Erie
7. 24x Aaron Masters
8. 19 Shelby Cortese Thornton
9. 21 Christopher Nelson Arvada
10. 21R Robert Hoard Cheyenne
11. 55 Damian Lockhart Arvada
12. 88 Nick Davis
13. 04 Bill Simmons II Pueblo
14. 02 Darrell Smith Littleton
15. 32t Greg Thurlow
16. 53 David Noah (R) Lakewood
17. 18W Keanna Weber Henderson
18. 45 Rebecca Simpson Colo Springs
19. 11 Nick Tabor
20. 7 David Robinson

Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 13 Crazy Train Taylor and Stephanie
2. 26 Slam Trak Fri and RyRy
3. 8 Anger Management Kelly and Nic
4. 1 Robert Davey Dave Schmidt
5. 311 Bipolar Express Cassie and Glenna
6. 86 Last Call Jared and Terri
7. 5 Hearse Train Alex and Alegra

Race Rental Modifieds
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 4 Chad Willett
2. 5 Jake Nutall
3. 34 Chayce Willett
4. 1 Brian Casey
5. 18 Yevan Maurer
6. 10 Colby Willett
7. 21 Betty Lou Wong
8. 12 Scott Nuttall
9. 11 Gary Fedie