Deines Wins Both Features While AJ Warren Wins the Pro Truck Championship


(09-10-2016 Dacono, CO) While Adam Deines was busy winning his 4th straight Snap-On Tools Pro Truck feature event it was young AJ Warren who was crowned the season champion in the division. It was Warren’s first ever Pro Truck Championship in a season highlighted with fresh blood including Kody Vanderwal who brought home the 2016 Rookie of the Year award. In the Legend division Kyle Clegg out-battled Danny Medina for the feature win setting up a dramatic final race on October 1st.

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks

It was championship night for the Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks and going into the final night of racing 4 drivers had a shot at the number one spot. AJ Warren, Troy Witthar, Jeff Walbaum and Kody Vanderwal all started the evening within striking distance. On the final night of racing there would be two Pro Truck feature events to settle the score.


In the first Pro Trucks feature #7 Adam Deines and #8 Jeff Walbaum filled out the front row for the 25 lap race. Deines quickly jumped out front but was followed closely by Walbaum and Vanderwal. Points leader AJ Warren in the #2 Truck moved into second place and began to pressure Deines for the win. Two fantastic battles for position developed between the leaders as well as for 3rd place with Walbaum and Vanderwal banging doors.

Deines and Warren raced side-by side but when the checkered flag flew it was Deines holding off Warren for the win.

In the final Pro Truck race of the 2016 feature #7 Adam Deines passed #36 Matt Burton to take the early lead with Vanderwal and the #9 of Curtis Heldenbrand not far behind. Deines having missed several nights of racing has finished the season off with a bang winning the past two feature events as well as the bonus feature earlier in the night. Deines would add another notch in his belt as he hung on to win the final feature followed by Vanderwal, Heldenbrand, #2 AJ Warren and #8 Jeff Walbaum. With the win Deines has won 4 straight Pro Truck Feature events and a total of 5 on the season.


AJ Warren’s 4th place finish was more than enough to earn him his first ever Pro Truck season championship. Warren built on 2 feature wins and consistently finishing in the top 5 to top all drivers in 2016 to secure the prestigious championship.

Kody Vanderwal finished 2nd in the season standings just 20 points behind Warren but also locked up impressive Rookie of the Year honors just ahead of Jeff Walbaum who was also a rookie in the Pro Truck division.

2016 CHAMPION: #2 AJ Warren
2016 ROTY: #43 Kody Vanderwal
30 Lap FEATURE 2: #7 Adam Deines
25 Lap FEATURE 1: #7 Adam Deines
FAST DASH: #43 Kody Vanderwal
DASH: #5 Troy Witthar
QUICK TIME: #2 AJ Warren 17.311

Legend Cars

#15 Danny Medina jumped out to the early lead in the 35 lap Legend Car feature with #25 AdaM Pechman and #48 Kody Dempster not far behind. But it was the #66 of Kyle Clegg which had the crowd buzzing as he flew up though the field from his 10th place starting position to join the battle up front. After a couple of cautions Clegg moved into 2nd place and began to race Medina for the lead. Clegg and Medina began to trade the lead and race door to door lap after lap.


When the checkered flag flew Clegg had earned his 3rd feature win at CNS in the 2016. #6 Scotty Scott was able to grab 2nd place while Medina settled for 3rd place. However with point leader Chris Eggleston away driving in the K&N Pro Series West Medina was able to assume the lead in the season standings. The Legends have one more points race on Challenge Cup Saturday October 1st.

FEATURE: #66 Kyle Clegg
FAST DASH: #15 Danny Medina
DASH: #51 AJ Canada
QUICK TIME: #66 Kyle Clegg 18.786

Race Rentals Modifieds

FEATURE: #5 Nathan Kopische
QUICK TIME: #4 Trent Dedic 21.962

FEATURE: #951 Chris Deshon

Lite Division Winner:
Heavy Division Winner: #31 Johnson


Pro Truck Feature 2
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 7 Adam Deines Longmont
2. 43 Kody Vanderwal (R) La Salle
3. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand(R) Arvada
4. 2 AJ Warren Berthoud
5. 8 Jeff Walbaum (R) Brighton
6. 36 Matt Burton Englewood
7. 34 Rudy Vanderwal La Salle
8. 11 Steve Johnson Loveland
9. 19 Robert Davey Erie
10. 33 Tyler Davis (R) Thornton
11. 47 Jesse Seigel Castle Rock
12. 5 Troy Witthar Eastlake
DNS 95 Duane Lighthill(R) Littleton

Pro Truck Feature 1
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 7 Adam Deines Longmont
2. 2 AJ Warren Berthoud
3. 43 Kody Vanderwal (R) La Salle
4. 8 Jeff Walbaum (R) Brighton
5. 5 Troy Witthar Eastlake
6. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand(R) Arvada
7. 36 Matt Burton Englewood
8. 19 Robert Davey Erie
9. 11 Steve Johnson Loveland
10. 47 Jesse Seigel Castle Rock
11. 33 Tyler Davis (R) Thornton
12. 34 Rudy Vanderwal La Salle
13. 95 Duane Lighthill(R) Littleton

Legend Cars
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 66 Kyle Clegg Westminster
2. 6 Scotty Scott Arvada
3. 15 Danny Medina Colorado Springs
4. 25 Adam Pechman Morrison
5. 30 Darrell J Stewart Arvada
6. 46 Zach Witherwax Arvada
7. 16 Travis Roe Thronton
8. 51 AJ Canda Castle Rock
9. 20 Kynzer Riddell Westminster
10. 23 Austyn Radosta Pueblo
11. 47 Jason Hulvey (R) Thornton
12. 19 Larry Pachello Arvada
13. 32 Blair Cooper (R) Arvada
14. 17 BreAnn Adkison Cheyenne
15. 26 Chris Brunker Lakewood
16. 88 Paul Himler (R) Erie
17. 10 Adam Romero (R) Denver
18. 48 Cody Dempster (R) Parker
19. 37 Nathan Brasz Firestone
20. 9 Terry McBride Edgewater
DNS 6x Phillip Peconi Littleton

Race Rental Modifieds
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 5 Nathan Kopische
2. 4 Trent Dedic
3. 92 Brian Norris
4. 1 Blake Hess
5. 27 Jeremy Kopische
6. 11 Cory Kenworthy
7. 18 Jeff Thyfault
8. 88 Lance Kenworthy
9. 12 Dave Kopische
10. 21 Drew Walker
11. 34 Jim Smith