NASCAR Star Kenny Schrader Wins At Merced Speedway

Merced, CA…July 7…NASCAR star Kenny Schrader made a visit to Merced Speedway and won the 25 lap IMCA Modified Main Event Saturday night. The event was sponsored by VH Fresh, and Schrader put on an impressive performance as he started back in 12th. Jarod Fast led the early laps before Ryan Porter went driving by with an outside pass on the backstretch on lap nine. Schrader was already third by then, and he made an outside pass on the frontstretch a lap later to take over second. The battle was on for the lead, but Porter was doing a great job until he was passed on the inside exiting Turn 2 of the 20th lap. Moments later, Porter spun in Turn 3 for a lap 20 caution flag. Schrader led point leader Darrell Hughes II and Santa Maria visitor Chris Crompe on the restart. For the next 5 laps, Hughes did everything he could to get the lead away from Schrader, but Schrader had the line and capped his impressive drive with the Main Event victory. Crompe was a solid third, followed by Ramie Stone, Troy Stone, DJ Shannon, Fast, Derek Nance, Justin Villanueva and Tim Cecil. Eight lap heat races were won by Ramie Stone, Crompe, Schrader and Shannon.

Jacob Williams won the special 20 lap 600 Micro Sprint Main Event. It was the first visit of the year for the group, and they produced a 16 car field. Blake Parmley led for 13 laps before encountering problems and handing the lead to Sage Bordenave. Williams was in second by then, and he made an inside pass on the backstretch on lap 15 to take the lead. Watsonville Sprint Car point leader Koen Shaw was up to fifth by then, and he made a late charge to the front. Shaw made a Turn  2 pass on Ryan Delisle on lap 19 for second. Williams took the checkered flag just ahead of Shaw. Delisle settled for third, followed by Cody Gray, Cameron Paul, Bordenave, Jimmy Katarzy, Parmley, Kiely Ricardo and Randy Thompson. Eight lap heat race wins went to Bordenave, Parmley and Thomas Lieby.

Shawn DePriest won his first 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event. Kevin Lockerby led a lap in his pickup truck before reigning champion Chris Corder made an inside pass in Turn 2 for the lead. DePriest gained second on a lap three restart and quickly moved in to challenge Corder for the lead. Corder started to catch slower traffic, and he was still leading when a lap 13 caution flag flew. Corder led the restart, but an inside pass on the front stretch on lap 15 put DePriest into the lead. Corder pushed high exiting Turn 2 a lap later, allowing his sister Jennifer Corder to move by to challenge DePriest. Jennifer Corder made an attempt to get by for the lead on the outside as they took the checkered flag, but it was DePriest holding her off for a well-earned victory. After both Corders were disqualified in post-race tech, Allen Neal was elevated to a season best second, followed by Lockerby, Lee Ragsdale, Tyler Jackson, Jason Belton Jr, Kristina Cole, Scott Roehrenbaeck, Joe Terry and Jennifer Rodgers. Eight lap heat races were won by DePriest, Lockerby and Allen Neal.

Jesse James Burks won his fourth 15 lap California Sharp Mini Late Model Main Event. Point leader Tim Crews raced into the early lead ahead of Burks and led for five laps before a caution flag slowed the pace. On the restart, Burks raced around Crews on the outside to gain the lead. Burks led the rest of the way for the win, followed by Crews, Riley Jeppesen, Ian Shearer and Carson Guthrie. Crews picked up the win in the eight lap heat race.

Racing action continues next weekend with the IMCA Sport Modifieds, Hobby Stocks, California Sharp Mini Late Models and the Valley Sportsman division. For further information, go to