Lenz, Lipke, Steele Win Firecracker Challenge Races At Siskiyou Speedway


Yreka, CA…July 3…A big gathering of fans came to Siskiyou Motor Speedway to enjoy three divisions of racing and a Fireworks Display Tuesday night. When the checkered flag flew, it was Dr. Scott Lenz, Jimmy Lipke and David Steele scoring repeat wins in their respective Main Events.

Reigning champion and current point leader Scott Lenz won his second 30 lap Calculated Comfort Outlaw Pro Stock Main Event. BD Hammond Construction added to the purse, and the Pro Stocks produced a 16 car field. It was a clean sweep performance for Lenz, who also won his third four lap Trophy Dash and an eight lap heat race. The closest challenger to Lenz at the checkered flag was 2016 champion Steve Borror, but he trailed by a straightaway. Borror had a battle on his hands for second, but he held off Matt Harlow, who was enjoying his best finish of the season in third. Jeff Haudenshild finished fourth, followed by John David Duffie, James Flowers, Johnny Cobb, Bryan Hammond, Scott Flowers and Julia Flowers. Scott Flowers and Borror won the other heat races.

It took nine events, but 2016 IMCA Sport Modified champion Jimmy Lipke became the first two-time Main Event winner of the season. Rookie Ethan Killingsworth had his best showing of the season so far with second place finishes in all three of the races he started. Killingsworth kept it close, but he was no match for the flying Lipke in the 20 lap race. Lipke also won the four lap Trophy Dash ahead of Killingsworth. Cory Biggs made his first start of the season and won a good battle with point leader Trevor Tiffee to finish third. Donovan Rogers and Doug Franklin rounded out the lead lap finishing order as Gary Foster finished seventh ahead of Randy Wright. Tiffee won the eight lap heat race, followed by Killingsworth.

Medford point leader David Steele returned and won the 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event. It was the fifth win of the season for the 2015 champion. Point leader Marilyn Yawnick gave it a valiant effort, but Steele built up a nearly straight away advantage by the waving of the checkered flag. Terry Kendrick was a solid third, followed by Hunter Magnum, rookie Darek Alford, Mike Whitaker, Zach McMurray and Jason Frost. Steele picked up an eight lap heat race win in a good battle with Medford championship rival Magnan, but Magnan turned the tables on him with a close win in the four lap Trophy Dash. Alford outran McMurray to win the other heat race.

The NST Sprint Car Speedweek Series kicks off at Siskiyou Speedway on Monday, July 10th. Some of the top Sprint Car drivers will come to town to do battle in a show that will see the IMCA Sport Modifieds run a program in support. For further information, go to www.siskiyoumotorspeedway.com.