Fireworks And Fast Cars Entertain Fans At Coos Bay Speedway


Coos Bay, Oregon…July 7…Fans got treated to plenty of excitement Saturday night at Coos Bay Speedway. The show featured a great lineup of NASCAR Whelen All American Series racing action. There was also the death defying stunts of American Daredevil Mr. Dizzy. At one point, he emerged from a fiery minivan unscathed. The show concluded with an amazing fireworks display.

In NASCAR Super Late Model racing competition, point leader Brody Montgomery collected his division-leading sixth 20 lap Main Event win of the season. In this race, Montgomery had to deal with some tough competition from Thor Kristensen, who earlier picked up a win in the eight lap heat race. Kristensen had the fastest lap of the race at 15.924, but in the end, he settled for a close second to the impressive Montgomery. Wayne Butler was a solid third, followed by Deven Brown and Chris Ray. Brown also won the five lap Trophy Dash.

Earlier in the evening, Butler won the 20 lap Sportsman Late Model Main Event. It was the fourth win of the season for the two-time division champion. Butler won a near photo finish ahead of point leader Dyllan Siewell. Heat race winner Tom Williams finished third ahead of Jeff Krossman.

Steve Dubisar drove to an impressive victory in the 20 lap Street Stock Main Event. Dubisar’s second win of the season came a full straightaway ahead of 2016 champion Daniel Land. Jeff Thurman won a close battle with David Smith for the third position as point leader Ken Fox and Josh Bearden completed the Top 6, all on the lead lap. Smith won another five lap Trophy Dash, while Land picked up the victory in the eight lap heat race.

Point leader Sam Talon won his seventh 20 lap Mini Outlaw Main Event in a close race with previous winner Jason Kellam. Kellam won the five lap Trophy Dash. John Henry finished third in the feature, followed by Jason Berrier. Talon also won the eight lap heat race.

In the Hornet division, Tyler Tullos and Braden Fugate had a battle to see who could get their fourth feature win of the season. Tullos just managed to beat Fugate back to the line for the win. Trophy Dash winner Hannah Robison finished a strong third, followed by Chuck Peck, Leroy Rockwell, heat race winner Jeremy Mayfield, April Warmack, Andy Austin, Steven Parker and David Pellum. Fugate won the other eight lap heat race.

In the Junior Stinger division for Hornet Racers 11 to 14 years old, Griff Smith scored a clean sweep of eight lap heat race, five lap Trophy Dash and 15 lap Main Event. Smith won by nearly a straight away ahead of Sebastian Freedle as Hunter Berrier and Alex Butler also recorded lead lap finishes.

On Tuesday night, Coos Bay Speedway kicks off the NST 360 Sprint Car Speedweek series. NASCAR Sportsman Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Outlaws and Hornets are also on the card. After that, racing on the oval track will continue on July 21-22 with the Tidal Wave Weekend. The NASCAR Whelen All American Series program will feature Super Late Models, Sportsman Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Outlaws and Hornets. The Sunday race will feature a 50 lap race for the Super Late Models. For further information, go to