Blurton Wires the Field in URSS Victory at Dawson County


Lexington, Nebraska – July 8, 2018 – Zach Blurton took the lead at the start and never looked back to claim his second United Rebel Sprint Series victory of the season on Sunday night at Dawson County Speedway in Lexington, Nebraska.

Tim Fricke and Brian Herbert started on the front row for the twenty-lap-feature, but it was third-starting Blurton who took the lead as the green flag fell. Herbert, fifth-starting Tyler Drueke, Tyler Knight and Frieke were the top five after the first lap was complete.

Drueke would pass Herbert for the runner-up position on lap two but could only chase Blurton the rest of the way as the defending tour champion would go on to become the first repeat series feature winner on the season.

Eleventh-starting Shon Pointer worked his way up to a third-place finish while Herbert and tenth-starting Stu Snyder rounded out the top five.

The Keizer Aluminum Wheels hard charger award went to Coby Pearce as he worked his way up from his seventeenth-starting position to finish eighth.

The URSS are back in action this coming Friday and Saturday night, July 13-14, as they head to RPM Speedway in Hayes, Kansas for the annual running of the “Wheatshocker Nationals.”

A Feature: 1) 2j Zach Blurton, 2) 12t Tyler Drueke, 3) 20p Shon Pointer, 4) 97 Brian Herbert, 5) 23s Stuart Snyder, 6) 12n Neil Nickolite, 7) 911 Ty Williams, 8) 92 Coby Pearce, 9) 10 Jordan Knight, 10) 7 Shane Sundquist, 11) 33k Aaron Ploussard, 12) 62 Tim Fricke, 13) 12 Darren Berry, 14) 11k Tyler Knight, 15) 75 Nick Nichols, 16) 28 Tom Belsky, 17) 17s Chad Salem, 18) 9 John Webster